Cross Effects > Areas

Halloween Town

<< < (44/64) > >>

Kotomine_Rin:
Zeke

For a moment, Zeke looked shocked. Surprised. He just looked away in embarrassment and rubbed the back of his head with a pained sigh. "Man, you just had to make an embarrassing request like that."

Zeke could easily weasel his way into this. Pry his way through a wounded heart, say the right things, put a mask on, and pretend like he was some sort of well-intentioned savior. It's not that he thought he was totally bad, though he knew his actions were probably on the wrong side of history. He just didn't have that sort of human spark that limits your morality like that. After all, he wasn't born one. Even if it benefited him, would he be able to lie to a woman's exposed heart like that?

They... he shook his head.

"Can't do. I'm going to have to be frank with you, even if it ends up biting me. It's because I value this kind of honesty between partners, I'm not very good at lying to the people I like."

Playing the heroic good guy was one thing, but if that was the reason she'd follow him, he couldn't really approve. Because a bond based on a lie is as flimsy as it gets, you know? So he floated up to Lola, gave her a gentle pat, and wiped the blood off her face.

"I'm not the good guy in this story, and my intentions aren't selfless or pure. Don't get me wrong, I'll protect you and listen to whatever you have to say, and I'll do my best if it means we can work together without worries. Sure, I might be stupid and stubborn, but I'm not always stupidly stubborn."

Nah. This is just something that's never been asked of me. I don't really know how I'd pull that off, it sounds too complicated to try. I'd probably regret it.

"But I did make a stupid promise, didn't I? I guess it can't be helped. I need you guys and the resources here, and you'll listen if you're happy. So I guess that makes me a hero, huh..."